

The Millicom Nomination Committee's proposal for Board of Directors

Luxembourg, March 14th, 2019 – In advance of the Annual General Meeting of shareholders ("AGM") of Millicom International Cellular S.A. ("Millicom") to be held on May 2nd, 2019, Millicom's Nomination Committee proposes the election of Mercedes Johnson as a new Director of the Board, the re-election of José Antonio Rios García, Odilon Almeida, Janet Davidson, Tomas Eliasson, Pernille Erenbjerg, Lars-Åke Norling and James Thompson as Directors of the Board and the re-election of José Antonio Rios García as Chairman of the Board. Roger Solé Rafols has decided not to seek re-election.

Mercedes Johnson currently serves on the Boards of three NASDAQ or NYSE listed technology companies – Synopsys, a provider of solutions for designing and verifying advanced silicon chips, Teradyne, a developer and supplier of automated semiconductor test equipment, and Juniper Networks, a multinational developer of networking products. During her executive career, Mercedes held positions such as Chief Financial Officer of Avago Technologies (now Broadcom) and Chief Financial Officer of LAM Research Corporation. Mercedes holds a degree in Accounting from the University of Buenos Aires.

Cristina Stenbeck, Chairman of the Nomination Committee, commented: "The Nomination Committee is pleased to propose the election of Mercedes Johnson as a new Board Director. Mercedes will bring a wealth of experience from her current and previous Board, Audit Committee and Chief Financial Officer roles at publicly listed U.S. multinational corporations. The Nomination Committee is particularly appreciative that Mercedes has agreed to serve on the Board's Audit Committee, as Millicom continues its Latin American growth journey as a U.S. listed company."

José Antonio Rios García, Chairman of the Board, added: "On behalf of the Board, the management team, and all shareholders, I would like to extend our gratitude to Roger Solé Rafols for his contribution during his two years on the Millicom Board."

The Nomination Committee's full proposals are presented in the notice to Millicom's AGM, to be held on May 2nd, 2019. The Nomination Committee ahead of the 2019 AGM comprised Cristina Stenbeck, appointed by Kinnevik AB; John Hernander, appointed by Nordea Funds; and Scott Cobb, appointed by Southeastern Asset Management.

PRESS RELEASE



For further information, please contact

| Press: | Investors: |
|--|--|
| Vivian Kobeh, Corporate Communications Director +1 305 476 7352 / +1 305 302 2858 press@millicom.com | Michel Morin, VP Investor Relations +352 277 59094 investors@millicom.com |
| | Mauricio Pinzon, Investor Relations Manager Tel: +44 20 3249 2460 investors@millicom.com |

About Millicom

Millicom (NASDAQ U.S.: TIGO, Nasdaq Stockholm: TIGO_SDB) is a leading provider of cable and mobile services dedicated to emerging markets in Latin America and Africa. Millicom sets the pace when it comes to providing high-speed broadband and innovation around The Digital Lifestyle services through its principal brand, TIGO. As of December 31st 2018, Millicom operating subsidiaries and joint ventures employed more than 21,000 people and provided mobile services to approximately 48 million customers, with a cable footprint of more than 11 million homes passed. Founded in 1992, Millicom International Cellular SA is headquartered in Luxembourg.